Select Year:  2017]   2016 ]   [ 2015 ]   [ 2014 ]

NEWS ARCHIVE (Year 2017)

Ramadan Tournament 2017

Jassim Al-Muraikhi and Mohammad Ismail are 2017 Ramadan Tournament Champions.

Jassim Al-Muraikhi - Champion (A)
Jassim Al-Muraikhi - Champion (A)

Doha, 16-June-17: Qatari, Jassim Al-Muraikhi is the 2017 Ramadan Tournament Champion - Division A. Jassim rolled an average of 200+ maintaining his top position in the table. He marked 268 260 in two consecutive games and had control to maintain his shot ended with 3452 in the Top 16. During the top 8 knock-out match, Jassim faced his compatriot Khalid Al Dossari beating with sizzling 234 256 games that made him advanced to the Semi-Finals to face his compatriot Abdulrahman Jaidah ended with 467-400 in favor of Jassim. During the Finals, Jassim faced Yousef Al-Jaber who gained advance to the Finals after defeating Firas Nammour in a 443-372. Firas faced Abdulrahman in the finals playing positions 3rd and 4th. Firas rolled 459 in a 2 games series against 440 of Abdulrahman. Firas landed 3rd place while Abdulrahman finished 4th place.                                             View Score I  Photos

Mohammad Ismail - Champion (B)
Mohammad Ismail - Champion (B)

Doha, 15-June-17: Qatari, Mohammad Ismail bagged the title Ramadan Tournament 2017 in the final match of Division B. Ismail gained top position in the top 16 table with his 3245 eight-game series. During semi-finals, Ismail faced his compatriot Abdulla Hassan in a 2-game knock-out match. Ismail advances to the finals 446-336. During the Finals, Ismail faced his compatriot Saoud Al-Qayed who gained advance to the Finals after defeating Khalil Al-Muazzin in a 395-364. Khalil faced Abdulla in the finals playing positions 3rd and 4th. During the finals, Khalil rolled 419 in a 2 games series against 357 of Abdulla. Khalil ended 3rd place while Abdulla done as 4th .


     View Scores  I  Photos

H.H. The Emir Cup 2017

The Emir Cup 2017: Champion - Jassim Al-Muraikhi of Qatar, Francois Louw (South Africa) - 2nd Place, Siti Safiyah (Malaysia) - 3rd Place, and Ng Lin Zhi Shayna (Singapore) - 4th Place.
The Emir Cup 2017: Champion - Jassim Al-Muraikhi of Qatar, Francois Louw (South Africa) - 2nd Place, Siti Safiyah (Malaysia) - 3rd Place, and Ng Lin Zhi Shayna (Singapore) - 4th Place.

The H.H. Emir Cup 2017, the opening event of the 2017 Asian Bowling Federation (ABF) Tour season, was held from February Feb. 27 through March 5 at the Qatar Bowling Center, a 32-lanes in Doha, Qatar.


Players competed for total prize money of 58,200 U.S. Dollar, $43,800 less than last year’s prize fund of $102,000. The Emir Cup paid a $10,000 first prize, $6,000 for second place and $3,500 apiece for third and fourth place.


Opposite to the previous years, the Emir Cup did not award a World Bowling Tour or Professional Bowlers Association title. However, the top 16 Asian men will be awarded Asian Bowling Federation (ABF) Tour ranking points (no extra finals to be played).


Qualifying (eight games, including the two highest four-game series; unlimited re-entries) ran over six days including 10 squads featuring four games each. Women received eight pins handicap each game.


Total 32 players advanced to the finals on Sunday, March 5, including the top 16 players with the highest 8-game totals plus the next eight foreign bowlers and the next eight local bowlers.


Those 32 were split into four groups of eight players, who bowled seven games of round robin match play. The winner of each match received 3 points while loser got zero points. Each tie was broken in a one-ball roll-off. The top 4 of each group advanced to single-elimination finals in bracket system.


In bracket play, matches consisted of two games with the highest pinfall advancing. The field was trimmed to eight, four and then two players, who bowled for the title.


- Source:




Qatar National Olympic Committee

Asian Bowling Federation